USOMO VS. AUDIO GUIDE

What makes usomo so innovative?

usomo is often understood as an audio guide.
But usomo is different and can do much more!
The essential characteristics of both are compared here.

usomo
(multi-dimensional immersive audio system)

audio guide
(one-dimensional information transmitter)
Sounds of all kinds – voice, music and sound atmospheres – reach the user synchronously with visual perception. It is not necessary to do anything for it other than moving through the space.Pre-defined sounds, usually just simple voice tracks, are transmitted to the user only after an active request.
The sound and its transformations in shape, volume or perspective are realistically connected to the position and the orientation of the user in relation to objects and areas in the space. Thereby, the immersive effect of a dive into the space arises naturally. The requested sound sequences play linearly until the end or until being switched off by the user. An audio guide is not or only limitedly interactive. It is a comparably one-sided and inflexible medium.
The individual movement in the space invites to play around with the sounds. usomo is not only interactive, but also participative. The visitors of an exhibition can participate in it and engage more intensely, which results in an enhanced long-term didactic effect.The user is „forced“ again and again to consciously command an action and can yet only effect start, pause and stop. A true immersion into an experiential atmosphere is hardly possible – space, content and user stay separate on their own levels.
Complex spatial sound scenarios are created that can be wandered through and explored individually. The heard sound is made up of many singular sounds distributed throughout the space. A flexible and three-dimensional sound space with unique structures for everyone is generated.Only a pre-mixed stereo sound file can be transmitted, being connected with the visuals merely in terms of the factual content.
Films, too, can be extended by the third acoustic dimension: usomo recognizes the exact location of every person in the space and allocates the sound automatically and spatially precise, including volume regulation on approaching or moving away from the film. no possibility
Additional effects such as light can also be steered corresponding with the standpoint and motion of the user.no possibility

USOMO VS. AUDIOGUIDE

Was ist das Neue an usomo?

usomo wird oft als Audioguide verstanden.
Aber usomo ist anders und kann viel mehr!
Die wesentlichen Unterschiede sind hier dargestellt.

usomo
(mehrdimensionales immersives Audiosystem)

Audioguide
(eindimensionaler Informationsvermittler)
Klänge aller Art – Sprache, Musik und Geräuschatmosphären – erreichen den Benutzer synchron zu seiner visuellen Wahrnehmung. Man muss nichts dafür tun, außer sich durch den Raum zu bewegen. Festgelegte Klänge, zumeist nur einfache Sprachspuren, werden dem Benutzer erst nach aktiver Anforderung zugespielt.
Der Klang und dessen Veränderungen in Form, Lautstärke oder Perspektive stehen in realitätsgetreuer Abhängigkeit der Position und Ausrichtung des Benutzers zu Objekten oder Bereichen im Raum. Dadurch entwickelt sich auf ganz natürliche Art der immersive Eintauch-Effekt. Die jeweils angeforderten Tonsequenzen laufen linear bis zum Ende oder bis zum Abschalten durch den Benutzer. Ein Audioguide ist nicht oder nur eingeschränkt interaktiv. Er ist somit ein vergleichsweise einseitiges und starres Medium.
Durch die individuelle Bewegung im Raum kann man gleichsam „mit den Tönen spielen“. usomo ist also nicht nur interaktiv, sondern auch partizipativ. Die Besucher einer Ausstellung können an ihr mitwirken und intensiver teilhaben, was die didaktische Nachhaltigkeit enorm verstärkt. Der Benutzer wird „gezwungen“, immer wieder bewusst eine Aktion vorzunehmen und kann doch nur Start, Pause und Stop bewirken. Ein echtes Eintauchen in eine Erlebnisatmosphäre ist kaum möglich – Raum, Content und Nutzer bleiben getrennt auf ihren eigenen Ebenen.
Es werden komplexe räumliche Klangszenarien geschaffen, die individuell durchwandert und erforscht werden können. Der gehörte Ton setzt sich aus vielen, im Raum verteilten Einzeltönen zusammen. Ein flexibler und dreidimensionaler Soundspace entsteht, der für jeden eine einzigartige Struktur hat. Es kann nur eine fertig gemischte Stereotondatei zugespielt werden, die zwar eine inhaltliche, aber sonst keine direkte Verbindung zum Visuellen hat.
Auch Filme können um die dritte Akustikdimension erweitert werden: usomo erkennt den genauen Ort jeder Person im Raum und spielt den Ton automatisch und räumlich präzise zu, inklusive einer Lautstärkeanpassung bei Annäherung oder Entfernung vom Film.keine Möglichkeit
Zusätzliche Effekte wie Licht können ebenfalls korrespondierend mit Standpunkt und Bewegung des Benutzers gesteuert werden.keine Möglichkeit